April 30, 2013

  • (tap tap) Is this thing on?

    Long time no blog.

    I find myself possibly perched on the edge of returning to work. I am heading into a third interview for a promising part-time position — one that is in my field of expertise and will surely open the door to future opportunities. This is a good thing, since the earlier part of my career took place elsewhere, and my local network is pretty light. I am known for my confidence in myself, so in my mind it’s a done deal — I will get an offer and will just need to decide if it’s mine to take. But the reality is that I still have to wait and see. And therefore, so do you.

    This weekend, I was out of town with some local lady friends. It was a beach trip away from the ‘hood, and the kids, and the husbands, and the sports games, and the cooking, and all that. It’s interesting to hear how each couple handles things when the mom is out of town. You have the women who prepare meals in advance for the family and direct all activities and responsibilities from afar via text messaging. Then you have the women who never check in at home because they don’t want to hear about what a mess things are at home without them. And of course you have every imaginable situation in between. I was in touch with the family socially, but the Mr. was firmly in charge. Not only did he cook gourmet meals that put me to shame, but he coached like 100 lacrosse games, replaced the lightbulbs in an outdoor light fixture to keep the HOA at bay, served me dinner when I got home late (traffic), unpacked my cooler (extra food from the beach house), made the kids’ lunches for the next day, and pretty much handled everything without breaking a sweat. When he told me at 10pm that the kids’ lunches were already packed, I was speechless. He said, “What’s the point of a nice, relaxing weekend away if you have to pay for it when you get back?”

    Yeah, I think he’s a good egg. And I think I can trust that he will be helping me out more than I can imagine if the work thing becomes a reality.

    You know, the thought of having an office with a computer that is not 3 feet away from the homework table is sounding pretty darn cushy right now. Since starting this blog entry, I’ve been interrupted to get the glue gun down from a high shelf, help choose an acrylic paint color for a pencil that is supposed to be a “child” for a math project (????), negotiate attendance at a friend’s lacrosse game (NO), decide if someone can “watch a show” (NO, because you have to practice guitar), let the dog in from the yard, and determine if someone had properly packed up school stuff and could go outside (YES!!!). I should probably figure out dinner, too.

    Whew. And the pay would be better for that office job, too……

Comments (6)

  • This made me smile! I love that you are on the cusp of career and that your husband is willing (and very able) to hold down the fort. Hope you get the job and everything works smoothly!

  • Excellent!! My fingers are crossed for you.

  • Good luck — it sounds as though you are “ready” for the big and exciting next step. Your husband is a gem, by the way, but you knew that.

  • You just describe my work-at-home life. I mean, I have a separate office. It’s the largest room in the house, in fact. And it has a door.  But somehow everyone is always still in here!

    Good luck on the job!  I’ve been putting feelers out there (in which “feelers” = massive amounts of time applying to jobs) and picking up tons of extra freelance work (more than I can handle), but still hoping for something permanent, part-time or full-time.

  • He said, “What’s the point of a nice, relaxing weekend away if you have to pay for it when you get back?”

    I could never, in a million billion years, imagine my husband saying something like this to me. So yes, he is a good egg. Your husband, I mean. Not mine. I mean, mine is a good egg, but just in a different way. A very different way.

    Good luck with the job!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *