June 1, 2013

  • Arriving at the End

    So when you set up a blog with a username that suggests a process, there comes a time when that username becomes outdated. I mean, really, how long does it take to turn green? For us, it happened quite some time ago. But the blog name was the blog name, so what could I do?

    Perhaps the behind-the-scenes Xanga wizards were perturbed by the outmodedness of my username. Maybe it got their wizard britches in a little bit of a tangle. Maybe it started to make them a little irritable. I don’t know….I guess it’s possible.

    But then, I went and did it. I changed my entire life – the one that had been the basis of my irrelevant-username-having blog.

    I got a job. (A paying, outside the house job. To clarify.)

    I know, I know. It’s not right to just begin employment without overhauling the blog that got you through the sometimes isolating, frustrating, hair pulling years of full-time staying home with kids. To just go out and become less isolated and spend less time around kids who say quotable things and become less involved in the school and Bubble community that has so generously made an ass of itself on the pages of this here blog. I mean, I know I was at fault. I know the Xanga wizards were angry.

    But did they have to go and pull the plug?!? shocked

    For all of my real life people who read the blog and are not among my inner circle of Xanga-made friends, let me explain. We Xanga-folk got word yesterday that in all likelihood, Xanga will cease to exist in 6 weeks time. Our blogs will be history. Although, there is talk of raising money to create some Xanga-like corner of another blogging platform….yadda yadda technical talk. All I know is that it seems like the right time to make a change, since it’s less of a commitment to change your blog than your entire life….and I’ve already done that, you know.

    This blog was the Mr.’s idea. He thought it would be nice for me to document our journey to becoming a greener family. At first, it seemed pointless to me, but I finally started to get on board with the idea and googled blogging platforms. I found some article online with the author’s picture next to it. He was old, bald, and grey. He said that he blogged on some particular site I don’t remember, but that his kids blogged on Xanga. I hadn’t heard of it, but I figured I belonged with his kids’ generation, since they were surely hipper than <==== that dude.

    And so it began. I didn’t know if anyone would read it. (They did!) And I surely never expected to make online friends. (I did….I really did.) And I didn’t realize what good therapy it would be for me to be able to share my thoughts and my dreams and my stories about the absurdity and joy of raising two kids in the middle of a suburban bubble.

    The Xanga wizards say we can archive our files and save them. I’m a little verklempt because it’s not working right now, and I need to have access to the old stuff. It’s not an option to not have it. This blog is like the story of my early mom years.

    I will give it a day or so, and then I will sit here and copy/paste or print every single word and comment if I have to. Don’t let me down, Xanga wizards. I know you’re in freakout mode, and I get it. But please protect my online memories, ok?

    If you’ve been asking yourself, “Why do I read this silly ol’ blog, anyway?” — this would be a good time to gracefully exit. No hard feelings. But if you want to continue on the journey with me, the Mr., and our boy and girl (and neurotic dog) — please do so here.

    And if you’re one of my many Xanga friends, please be sure to leave a link to your blog’s new digs if you haven’t already.

    I’ll see you on the other side.

    Turningreen, over and out.

     

     

Comments (4)

  • Don’t know if you’ve tried to archive before, but basically you click the button and nothing happens – that’s normal. It just takes them a day or so and you come back and there should be a new file name and you click to download that.  :)

  • Yes, I have done it before- and the file is there. But when I try to download, I get a page that says it’s a bad link. Others are getting the same message – so it’s a bigger issue than me, I guess. But of course — it’s ALLLL about me. ;)

  • I’m making a list and trying to decide where I want to land… It might be a steep learning curve but I’m guessing I don’t have a choice. I’ll post my new home when I decide…

  • Well, I’ve been redundant-blogging at WP for years (under the same name), so this will be cake for me (assuming it’s even a thing). Will my blog audiences be united at last? 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *