April 19, 2010

  • When Opportunity Knocks…

    The next door neighbors’ have a trampoline (with safety netting) that they have had for several years, and since their kids are much older than ours, they haven’t used it for a long time.  A few years ago, the neighbors told me that our son and daughter were welcome to use it anytime, without asking, but that they didn’t want other neighborhood kids to use it.  This was because a) I can supervise my kids from my own home and b) our kids are awesome. 

    At first, this arrangement was kept secret from our kids, because a) I didn’t think they were old enough to play safely on the trampoline and b) I didn’t feel like having to be the trampoline police and keep all the other kids out of the fun.

    Recently, my kids have started to ask about the trampoline again, and I told them that they could go on it.  Today, the planets were in perfect alignment for them to use it — none of their little friends were around; it is a gorgeous day; I was sitting in the sunroom where I have a perfect line of vision to the trampoline; and the neighbor next door was home for a courtesy “can we use it NOW?” conversation.

    Our son came up with the idea and was super excited.  However, our daughter chose this time to become grumpy and declare that she didn’t want to go on the trampoline.  HAHAHAHAHAHA!  She’s only been drooling over that thing since she was three years old, but because it was her brother’s idea…..nah, not really into it.

    I was pretty furious, but kept it in check.  The little guy tried every approach to convince her, thus wasting all the time that the neighbor was home and the neighborhood kids were otherwise engaged.  When he realized that the neighbor was gone, our son started to cry and got really angry at his sister.  I tried to get him to understand that he didn’t really have to ask….he could just go jump….it was ok….but he wasn’t comfortable with that and decided to move on.

    A few minutes later, homework time ended for the friends and there was a knock on the door.  I sent the boy roaming around our property to look for our son….only to discover him jumping on the neighbor’s trampoline after all.

    UGH!!!!!!  He finally got on the thing, and then I had to explain that the friend could not join him (even though the friend was so excited about the prospect that he hopped the fence before I could stop him).  I would not have sent the friend looking if I had known my guy was jumping.  And OF COURSE, as soon as I told our son he couldn’t jump anymore but had to go play with his friend, our daughter suddenly had interest in the damn trampoline. (Of course I didn’t let her go on either.)

    A lesson in missed opportunity for sure. 
    And an annoying afternoon for mom.

Comments (6)

  • Ah, yes.  Such a problem on so many levels.  And really only just beginning to be a problem now that your kids have opened the door to the possibility.

    Our neighbors down the street have a trampoline which we are “welcome to use at any time.”  It’s the most rickety, rusted, broken down piece of crap you’ve ever seen with all the protective netting torn into shreds and hanging uselessly from the sides.  ACK.  Every time she extends an invitation to other neighbors I want to grab her by the shoulders and say, “You KNOW you’re gonna get sued for a billion dollars, right??”  Putting aside whether I think the stupid thing is dangerous (which it is) I do NOT want to be the mom watching when some other neighbor kid falls through the rusty springs and tears off his lower leg.  ACK ACK ACK.

  • Kids. Sigh. We’ve never had a trampoline, and none of our immediate neighbors does as well. Just as well, I take it.

  • The trampoline is trouble waiting to happen. Hope the neighbor sells it – preferably to someone in another state!

  • You see?  This is why kids suck.

  • I hope you realize that this post just hit a little too close to home.  Nothing personal against *your* kids.  :)

  • It can’t actually work, I believe so. go link here. To my mind one and all must browse on it. LINK check 6. The chap is completely right, and there’s no skepticism. 8 here LINK. Wow, there’s really much effective information above!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *