October 8, 2012

  • 3, 2, 1

    Three day weekend, two straight days of rain, one parent out of town….and it ain’t me. Blaaaaaaah.

    Despite the fact that it ended up being just me and our daughter for dinner last night, I ended up making a big meal of braised kale and sausage pasta. It was sub-par. It’s usually one of our favorite meals, but something was off — which was extra annoying, after having gone to all that trouble to feed just two people. Oh well. Tonight’s pressure cooker split pea soup was easier and infinitely tastier. So that’s good.

    Exciting start, huh? Aren’t you glad you tuned in to this channel?

    You know what’s exhausting? Being the source of information for other people all the time. An example – I received the same flyer via the same email as several of my friends, yet it seems that no one else knows the details of the event outlined in said flyer. They are emailing me with question after question, and acting all appreciative of me giving them the “heads up” about the information, when all I’m doing is reading the freaking flyer. This happens all the time. (I know I already mentioned that. The repeat is intentional, because it is so annoying. Italics worthy, even. Twice.)

    In the middle of dinner tonight, our daughter announced, quite randomly, “I think the Disney Channel has too many shows.” Well, alright then. Thanks for pointing that out. She elaborated to say that she thinks they have just really started to add shows that are horrible. Apparently, the latest is something called, “Dog with a Blog,” and it’s about a talking dog with a blog. Though, I guess if the dog blogs it must do more than just talk – like type and read and such. Is that stupid? Yes – yes, I think it is. Our daughter has a good head on her shoulders, and makes a good point. I asked if this means that even the family dogs on Disney are now smarter than the parents, and she said, “Sadly – yes.” But – hello! I have a blog! Psssh.  I’m smarter than a dog.

    A horrible crash just came from the room above me, where the kids are not doing what they are supposed to be doing, which is getting into bed. Perhaps this is because it is very early, and they haven’t done much of anything for the last two days. Excess energy, boredom, and early bedtime don’t work for kids. BUT, they work for mom and I think we all know that’s what really matters. No screams, so all must be well. Our ceilings are so thin that often it sounds like someone is banging on the floor with a jackhammer – but when you go up to investigate, it’s someone tapping their foot lightly on carpeting.

    The kids and I watched a bit of “A Knight’s Tale,” starring Heath Ledger, yesterday. I always enjoy that movie, and I love me some Heath Ledger. The kids are always wary of an “old” movie, but were willing to give it a chance. Before the first jousting scene, the crowd erupts into a round of Queen’s “We Will Rock You,” which is quite fun, don’t you think? I said as much to our daughter, and commented on how it was funny how the movie has a modern soundtrack.

    “MODERN????” she said laughingly, as she whipped her head in my direction.

    “You know, modern as compared to medieval times. They didn’t have rock music or electric guitars in medieval times.”

    I got an eye roll and a cackle at this, because OBVIOUSLY, MOM.

    But then I clicked the “info” button on the remote to see when the movie came out and LA DEE DAH, it came out the year our dear, sweet, sarcastic daughter was born. SOOOOOO, how do you like them apples, girly? She seemed a little uncomfortable with this fact, because she had declared this to be, “probably some old ’90s movie” when she saw it on our DVR list.

    HA! 2001, baby. Not so old and irrelevant now, huh?

    I’m not sure if she’s old enough yet to be mesmerized by Heath’s dreaminess, so for now I’m pushing the soundtrack. Seeing as how it’s so modern, and all.

    OK, time to head upstairs and see what awaits. There are reports of a foot injury, but I suspect the facts have been greatly exaggerated. There is also a missing remote control, and I intend to make all children – maimed or otherwise – participate in the recovery of the remote before bed. And then I just might install a LoJack on it. They keep losing DVR remotes, or burning up the batteries in the remotes, and then stealing the one from my bedroom or the guest room. Grrrrr. Hands off, kiddies!!!

     

Comments (6)

  • Missing remotes are so problematic… and dead batteries are a modern curse. As for the movie, I haven’t seen it so I’m going to have to put it on the list since it seems you rate it highly. Must be worth a watch (especially with a great modern soundtrack!) hehe!

  • Sorry you’re not out of town, haha.   And I feel the SAME WAY about being the source of information!!  This happens mostly with MY HUSBAND, of course, who relies on me to keep all the important info and dates and it pisses me off sometimes.  And it happens with people from school.  It makes me angry that some people take advantage of *someone else* always knowing what’s happening.  How freeing it must be to have such a decluttered mind!  (Bitter, much? ;)  

  • @murisopsis - We found it! (And when I say “we,” I really mean “me,” of course. And they had the wrong remote in that room (playroom) for so long that they were fascinated to learn that having the correct one, which was long ago paired with that television, would allow them to use it for powering on/off and volume — not just changing the channel. MIRACLES!! ;)

    @DrTiff - Oh, I’m bitter. Especially when my “special information” comes from just reading the material that has already been shared on multiple occasions. It’s not as if I have some special hotline that gets me inside scoop. Ah-nnoying!

  • I tried to get my 14yo to watch A Knight’s Tale, but she wasn’t interested. I had her watch Wait Until Dark with me Saturday night. Still don’t know what she thought about that one. (It was really ancient.)

    Next time, try to be the parent who goes out of town.

  • P.S. You’re totally smarter than a dog. I bet you’re even smarter than Lassie.

  • @madhousewife - See why I blog? Where else do I get validation like that??? 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *