January 11, 2013

  • 111 Post

    Since I waited until the 11th day of the new year to post, I thought I’d title it in a way that made that seem purposeful and important. So, Happy 111 to you and yours! (Did it work?)

    Bubble Elementary gave the kids a full 2 weeks off from school, which means that this is the end of their first week back in business. It has been an overly full week, with winter swim season starting and lots of after school club meetings cramming into one week. Plus, it’s time to start stressing over next school year — scheduling meetings and open houses and info sessions and blah, blah, blah.

    The schools here have reacted a bit to the widespread concerns about school safety. There are new signs posted, guide ropes, extra sign-in procedures, and very often armed police officers standing guard in the lobby. This would probably have concerned me more if it weren’t for the fact that the police officer I encountered is also a dad at the school. It was not strange to me, nor to the students, to see him standing there in full uniform. I guess that’s the best possible scenario if he has to be there.

    I also noticed some changes when I made my weekly drop-off of backpack food from the food bank. I usually pull my van into the car loop, get buzzed into the school with no questions, and come and go a few times as I make my delivery. This time, the car loop was blocked entirely, so I parked and walked around, smartly grabbing my wallet on the way in for identification. This time I was buzzed in with a glare, so I stopped in the office to state my business. All went smoothly, and I totally understood. It’s just a little sobering to keep getting those reminders of what happened in CT and continues to happen all over the place.

    This week, one of Professor Sister’s most promising students was shot with a semi-automatic weapon. She survived, but other members of her family did not. The weapon was from her own home. I won’t get into the specifics, but to suffice it to say that it is a horrible story and proof that gun violence is a tragic and widespread problem throughout this country. I certainly hope that Congress does something to address it and doesn’t continue to be influenced by the “accept no blame” NRA.

    This post took a turn towards sober, huh? So much for the joy of 111. It’s a gloomy day here, I’m on my second head cold in a row, and I need to go back to Bubble Elementary for the third time today……so, sorry for putting a cloud over your 111. Tomorrow is supposed to be ridiculously global warmish here, so maybe that will make me feel more perky. 

Comments (15)

  • I’ve decided not to think about CT anymore. That’s my completely rational response to the situation. I wasn’t getting anywhere positive when I was thinking about it anyway. I am pretty certain there is not a solution or an answer or an explanation. Therefore thinking about it is like looking at the scrapbooks of your failed relationship. If you know what I mean.

  • OBL really nailed it with that scrapbooks-of-your-failed-relationship line.

    Apparently there was a big meeting with the principal at our elementary school about gun-violence-in-school prevention. I’m very far removed from these things because I don’t attend meetings with principals unless they’re mandatory, and I don’t attend PTO meetings either. I happen to be friends with the PTO president, so I occasionally learn stuff, far after the fact. Anyway, some parents were very concerned about beefing up security, wanting teachers to be armed and whatnot, which surprised me. Yes, we’re in the suburbs, but we’re still the Portland suburbs, so I wouldn’t have expected so many people to be so pro-gunny. But I guess it was only a few noisy people who were that way. And I guess everyone is over it now.

  • More security. More guns. I hope sanity and common sense can become friends again and talk some sensse into people.

  • @ordinarybutloud – Wait – how did you get my scrapbooks? Seriously, though, I’m not thinking about Newtown specifically, and I’m not looking for answers about the motivation behind it. I see things as being very black and white and I see no good reason for assault weapons belonging to any average citizen. I feel so strongly about this that I have a hard time understanding how others can not. And the NRA’s “position” to do nothing at this point in time makes the arguments on their side seem even more ludicrous to me. That’s what I’m thinking about – changes for the future, as opposed to dwelling on the past, however sad it may be.

  • @madhousewife – Eh, I disagree on the scrapbooks. See my reply to her. I’ve never been good at scrapbooking. ;) I think some of the school procedures being put in place are silly, but at least it’s getting people talking and aware. I can’t even wrap my head around the concept of armed teachers. That is INSANE. Insane in the membrane.

  • “I feel so strongly about this that I have a hard time understanding how others can not.” Yes, I hear you. Many people feel this way, about this and other issues. This is something I experience only very occasionally, and only when I am personally and emotionally heavily invested in something. For example I feel this way about people who are opposed to peanut bans. I’m touchy about food personally and emotionally and for that reason I get very ramped up about people who want to eat peanut butter sandwiches in schools. I feel so strongly about it I have a hard time understanding how others can disagree. But on the assault weapon issue I do not feel that way. I feel ambivalent. I do not feel strongly in either direction. I do not think that banning assault weapons will solve any problems in the world. To me, banning an assault weapon is like jamming your finger into a leaky dam.

  • @ordinarybutloud – Even though my daughter has a peanut allergy, it is easier for me to see and understand both sides of that issue than the assault rifle one. I can see what others get out of eating a PBJ sandwich. I cannot see any good coming from an average citizen toting a gun like that. I think the girl my sister knows who was shot point blank 11 times in the blink of an eye likely would have fared better in her specific circumstances had the shooter chosen to use the handgun vs. the semiautomatic – both of which were present. Reaction time for bystanders would have been different. Perhaps the shooter would have faltered. I would never have either in my home and wish neither had been in this girl’s home….but they were. Banning assault weapons will not stop all gun violence – I get that, and I get your leaky dam analogy. But when you’re talking about people dying, any reduction is positive, so why not plug some of the bigger holes in the dam? It’s like that corny starfish story – just because you can’t save every one washed up on the beach doesn’t mean you shouldn’t save the ones you can reach.

  • @turningreen - I’m really torn about this comment. On the one hand, I highly value your friendship, as internet-y as it is, and I have no desire to engage you on this issue because I can tell you have a genuine and heartfelt position on it that is emotionally charged and important to you. On the other hand, it almost sounds like you’re asking me to explain why I don’t see it the same way you do, and I find those kinds of conversations nearly irresistible, given my propensity to try to understand opinions and positions that are different from mine. So I guess what I’m saying is, I’m not sure how you would prefer I respond, but your friendship is more important to me than this issue. 

    Having gotten all that out of the way, here is my response: I guess I don’t see any good coming from an average citizen having an assault rifle either, but then again, I don’t really see any harm in it either. I hear what you’re saying about violence that has been inflicted using assault rifles. I’m not ignorant of the arguments re: reload time, etcetera, but in my head, for whatever reason, I don’t connect this particular kind of violence (inexplicable, evil, mass) with the gun. I connect it with the kinds of unstable, mentally ill people who are committing these crimes. I don’t have any weapons in my home either (other than our “family heirloom” which is unloaded and locked in a safe) and I’ve never hunted and I don’t even like my kids to play with Nerf guns, particularly. But for me it feels like a preference rather than a position, if you know what I mean. I DO drink and I like drinking, and I know people who think it’s a terrible vice that should be eradicated from society. I like to gamble, too. I see guns as sort of a vice issue…one person’s bad habit is another person’s hobby, I guess. I think alcohol and gambling can be horrible, killing, society-destroying habits as well, but I don’t feel compelled to see them outlawed. I don’t feel compelled to defend the ownership and use of assault rifles. But I don’t feel compelled to eliminate them (or try to eliminate them) either. And the dam/starfish thing, yeah, I know it’s a defeatist argument, but it’s also pragmatic. I just don’t think fighting about assault rifles, even if ultimately every assault rifle disappeared, is going to solve the problem of mass violence. I think there are zillions of ways to perpetrate mass violence and someone who spends all day in a basement locked in a lonely, mentally ill, isolated world with a computer is going to be able to come up with a lot of them.
    I still cry every time someone mentions CT. We watched the Survivor Reunion show on TiVo last night and they did a moment of silence and it killed me. I hate living in a world where something like that is possible. But I don’t see an assault weapon ban as any kind of answer or even partial answer.

  • @ordinarybutloud - Of course I value your friendship more than this issue, too – and your comment about finding these conversations “nearly irresistible” makes me smile, because of course I know that! But really, it’s

    because

    I know you well enough to know that that I found your scrapbook analogy to be confusing. It just doesn’t seem like you to push a controversial topic away, not just in an internet discussion, but in general. You sure seem like more of a churner on these topics.  Now that you have explained your views, I understand more where you’re coming from. It’s interesting that you are having a much more emotional response to Newtown specifically, whereas my (long term) emotions have clearly gotten directed more in the fallout and debate since.  It’s an emotional topic, with no real answers – but I’m glad you explained your thoughts. 

    No one I knew growing up hunted, went to target practice, or owned a gun – short of friends’ parents who were FBI agents. The only time a gun ever came up as a topic in my entire childhood was when a girl in my grade was killed playing a game of Russian roulette. We were 13 – she had the same name as me, but I had never even laid eyes on her. We came from different parts of town, and I didn’t know anyone involved in the incident – but clearly that set the tone for me on what guns can do, and it didn’t put me in the mindset of seeing them as a vice.
    My father-in-law does hunt, but his 3 sons have never gotten involved in it with him, and he primarily hunts in other countries. Interestingly, the Mr. went to a shooting range with a friend several months ago. He thought he would enjoy the experience and perhaps get info on a gun safety course, which he thought would be useful even though we don’t/won’t own a gun. He came back highly disturbed by the entire experience, finding that the gun range was very “loose” about safety and the people shooting were very relaxed and casual about it all. I guess those are the “vice” people – and it’s ironic that our friend who belongs to this club is our most liberal friend in the area, politically speaking.

  • @turningreen - of course I’ve lived most of my life in Texas. It is only very very recently that I’ve seen guns as a conservative/liberal issue. I still can’t quite wrap my mind around the connection between a person’s views on, say, taxes and women’s rights and that same person’s feelings about guns. But the other deep-seated influence in my life has been law enforcement, weirdly enough. My own father never owned a gun, never hunted, never served in the military. He’s a conservative guy who has never shot a gun, as far as I know. He’s kind of a nerdy intellectual person and not at all interested in weapons. My husband’s family, on the other hand, is law enforcement for three generations back. Through my husband I became a prosecutor, and now one of my closest friends is in the Secret Service. She carries her weapon everywhere. Many of our good friends are either officers or ex-officers and my husband grew up with a gun in the house all the time. My father-in-law brings his weapon with him every time he comes here. I don’t even notice it. It’s not that I’m unaware of the danger of them, and we lecture our kids all the time, just as we do about myriad dangers around them. But guns don’t figure high on my list of things to fear, I suppose. They are tools to me. My husband had a client whose son killed his best friend by accident with a gun. It certainly happens. It’s awful. But then again he has another client whose son was sexually abused at a popular summer camp for rich kids. So I suppose I have a little bit of a broad and deadened sense of the range and prevalence of evil.

  • @ordinarybutloud - Duuude. Don’t end it on that creepy note. What are you doing, writing some horror story for the WSH now?!?  Did you watch the Golden Globes? Funny stuff – Tina Fey/Amy Poehler were awesome. And I think Taylor Swift gave Adele the stink eye. There, that’s better. Light and fluffy. ;)

  • @turningreen - hahahahahaha…sorry. Don’t mean to be creepy. A person gets jaded after a while. I saw some of the golden globes but missed Tina and Amy :( Can’t remember why. Basketball game, maybe. 

  • I really should be working but I’m glad I came over and read this conversation…it’s good if not sad to read the interpretation of others on controversial issues like this….Taylor did give Adele the stink eye 

  • @mlbncsga – Yes, I think she DID! Very unbecoming. And the fact that the whole country is discussing guns is very sad. Sigh.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *