February 11, 2013

  • Sunday Funday

    Yesterday was quite a day. It started with an outing with some friends to visit a local establishment for brunch. At this brunch, I imbibed two bloody marys. The first one was really good. So good that it convinced me to get a second, but in retrospect – the first one was enough. Eh, you only live once.

    There was a drag queen performance during our meal. It was a HOOT I tell you. Lots of fun, lots of hysterical photos, lots of belly laughing at our table. You can see how the atmosphere was conducive to ordering a second drink. It seemed like just the thing to do in the moment.

    It wasn’t until I was dropped off on the corner of our street with 3 other moms, as our designated minivan driver rolled away, that I started to second guess myself. As I approached the front door, I saw the dog anxiously awaiting my arrival. Behind him was our son, wrapped in a fleece blanket. Next in line was the Mr., wielding a wooden spoon from tending the soup pot on the stove. Our daughter appeared last, holding a pencil from working on her class valentines. And what’s with the sun shining so damn brightly??

    I am not a good day drinker. This whole scene, which is a totally normal Sunday afternoon scene, threw me for a loop. I coped by hiding in a corner of the kitchen and shoving cell phone photos of drag queens under the Mr.’s nose as he was chopping chicken at the counter.

    Then, I decided to go upstairs and lie down for awhile….maybe catch a nap. 

    HA! I’m not a napper. No go.

    I was back downstairs within 15 minutes, this time to brew a cup of coffee. I got the idea from having watched “Flight,” with Denzel Washington the night before. I mean, sure – he drank for days on end and sobered up with cocaine (both snorted and smoked in a “cocoa puff” prepared by John Goodman) – but the concept of balancing out the downers with an upper was the same. (Humor me….I’m trying to sound like a bad ass.)

    Anyway, the coffee worked and I was almost good as new. Good thing, because it was almost time to head out to the next performance of the day.

    Instead of drag queens, this one featured our daughter and 4 other kids (all slightly older than her 11 years) in a rock band performance. She is the lead singer of this rockin’ band put together by her piano instructor. They did a 4 song set last night, and holy cow – she was fantastic! Her dad and I were so proud of her for getting up there and doing it, and then blowing everyone away with her talent. In fact, I think her talent created some sort of magical spell over her dad….he even indulged her in getting to school late after waking up with a post-gig headache. winky

    Final performance(s) of the night were thanks to the Grammy telecast, which I plopped my butt on the couch for once dinner was over and lunches were packed for school. I was reading a lot of commentary over Facebook, Twitter, and a live blog from my favorite NPR podcast. As I read all of this, I determined that these musical experts were mostly irritated and disgusted by how mainstream the awards and performances were. Which promptly led me to the conclusion that I am an unapologetic cookie cutter consumer of mainstream music. I enjoyed the performances and took no issue with the awards given. Of course, I’m not a fan of country music – so I could have done without that one performance (who was that? The Band Perry or something like that?). Carrie Underwood was ok, because I was distracted by her fancy projector like dress with butterflies. And then at the end….that Frank Ocean guy that all the experts were touting. What the hell? He sang a song called “Forrest Gump,” and there was actual footage of the running scenes from Forrest Gump playing behind him, and he had a weird headband, and it looked like his yellow pants covered legs were running instead of standing behind a piano, and I just. didn’t. get. it.

    Must be too avant garde for a consumer like me.

    So Performance Sunday was fun. And now it is Mundane Monday. You take the good with the bad.

     

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *