May 16, 2013

  • All Good

    I’m sure you’ve all been waiting with bated breath to see how I am doing with the new job and the continuing demands of the Turningreen household. Breathe easy, gentle readers – all is well. 

    The co-workers could not possibly be nicer. I felt very welcomed and at ease right from the first minute in the office. They gave me a plant for my office! I haven’t killed it yet! They bought pastries in my honor and convened an all hands on deck meeting for the sole purpose of hearing about me and sharing about themselves. Not our roles in the company, just about who we all are as people. Nice, huh?

    I have successfully commuted to downtown (what my nephew calls “the big city”), without getting lost, hitting traffic, or hitting another vehicle. I have managed to park in a fairly sketchy looking parking garage with gigantic support poles that are not in the least bit minivan friendly, and I haven’t even dinged my van! 

    My first “assignment” on the job involved coming up with a creative tag line for an event. Right up my alley, and the boss was gaga over my idea. Sweet! All in all, I love it. I love the schedule, I love the people, I love having an office where no children are sharing my office supplies! And I love the job.

    This was a good week on the home front, thanks to the end of one sport season and a little help from grandma and the Mr. Next week, summer swim team starts (in the sure-to-be-frigid pool), so things will be a little more hectic from here on out. But we’re cool. We’re chill. We got this.

    It has been interesting to see and hear the reaction of various women in my life as I transition back to the workplace. One woman who does not work outside the home seems to be literally foaming at the mouth with excitement in waiting for the day when she expects me to say, “Why did I do this? I had it so good before. I can’t handle this!” I do not anticipate saying any of these things, but I’m not going to ruin her anticipation by telling her.

    Many, many friends have offered to help with my kids at anytime, if I need it. In all my years as a full-time SAHM, I was never so gracious to working moms. They put me to shame. But, you know – I’m just not that fond of other people’s kids. And my kids are really good. I’m not just saying that because I’m their mom – they are just no trouble at all, and sometimes even a good enough influence on other people’s kids that having them in the mix is helpful. (Does that sound unbearably braggy and obnoxious? Sorry, but it’s kind of true. winky)

    In general, though, I wish that women could just be happier for each other’s successes and choices when it comes to home/work/life balance. There’s far too much judgement and even more competition. “It’s nice that you read books. I am sooooooooooo busy. I don’t even have time to read!” You know how it goes. I recently complimented a good friend of mine who works a full-time job and also manages to be a very present parent to her two kids (both older than mine). She has a very flexible job, but she really just doesn’t mention it. I mean, she talks about work and she obviously talks about home, but she never complains or competes in the “I’m busier than you” contest. She loves her job, she loves her kids, and she takes what comes with it with grace. You know, my sister does this, too, and she reads this blog – so I need to give her props, as well. Both of these women are my role models for how I want to handle the increasing demands on my time. But, I do, of course, reserve the right to complain on the blog, because what’s a blog without bitching???

Comments (10)

  • I’m thrilled that you are enjoying the new job and balancing home life with ease. Congratulations!

  • That’s so awesome! I totally agree with you that we ladies need to be supportive of ALL the various choices we make – and be glad that there are so many options for us! And when one of us wins, we ALL win.  I am so happy for your new job – They are lucky to have you! And I am sure that your kids are just as fabulous as you think they are – they are welcome over here for a play date anytime! (-:

  • That’s really great that you had such a warm and supportive welcome at the new job! :)

  • @murisopsis – Thank you so much!

  • Yay! Great to hear it is going well and even better to hear that you are getting family and community support. Rock on!

  • @miss_order – If only we could make that play date happen – my big kids would live to visit all your babies! :) “When one of us wins, we ALL win.” YES.

  • @LovelyLilaTX – I know, right? I was blown away, and really happy.

  • @transvestite_rabbit – Woohoo! The Mr. could not BE more supportive. He’s pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

  • I HAVE been waiting to hear!  In fact, I just logged in to here to see if you had updated!  :) 

    Glad it’s going smoothly!  What is your schedule, anyway, and how is that going to work with kids on summer break??  Inquiring minds want to know…   

  • @DrTiff – The current schedule is 9-2 every day, so the kids don’t miss me at all. Summer will be 3 days in a row, 9-5. They will have grandma sitting for them for 2-3 weeks, a teen neighbor (with her super mom as backup) for 4-5 weeks, camp and visit w/ cousins for 2 weeks, and we will all be on vaca for 1 week. I will rely upon the Mr., grandma, and friends to shuttle them to and fro practices and camp and the pool. Whew. When does school start???

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *