October 25, 2012

  •  

    Is my gourd making you uncomfortable?
    It has been quite the conversation starter in the Turningreen household since arriving from the farm. As you might imagine.
    We have some new neighbors. They have been moving in for over a week now. What do I mean by that? I mean that they have been actively unloading moving trucks for longer than 7 days. First it was a mid-sized DIY type truck, which showed up chock full no less than 3 times. Now it is day 2 of gigantic commercial moving truck, complete with movers. Wow. That’s a lot of stuff.
    The Mr. and I both requested car swag from the Obama campaign months ago. Well, requested and replied to multiple text pleas for cash support — semantics, folks. Anyway, the stickers finally came and have now been properly affixed. A family member who lives locally received a nasty note on his windshield in response to his Obama sticker. The Bubble can be oh-so-intolerant. I put mine on today, on the very day that Mr. Obama is heading into town to speak to the masses in this here swing state. I drove downtown to the Food Bank to volunteer, and saw swarms of people queuing up to ride shuttles to hear him speak. In the parking lot, there was some confusion between me and another volunteer as we tried to back our cars into the loading dock. She seemed to be (albeit unintentionally) stealing my spot, but then caught on just in time and let me through. As I stepped out of my car, she approached to say, “I couldn’t take your spot since you have the ‘right’ sticker on your car!” See? All you have to do to find tolerance around here is look for a lady in a Prius at the Food Bank.
    On my drive to deliver the food, I turned a corner to find a fairly well dressed man crossing the street in a pretty shady neighborhood. He didn’t seem to fit in with the rest of the crowd. But upon closer inspection, I noticed that, along with his dress clothes, he was wearing a Burger King crown and seemed to be gesticulating to members of his kingdom. Oh, ok. That makes more sense. I liked the way he seemed to be having more fun than the other folks waiting for the bus. I mean, you’ve gotta give a member of the 47% props for trying to emulate the more affluent types in this world, don’t you?
    And is it really such a long trip from posting gourd photos on the Internet to crowning oneself King of the ‘hood?

Comments (6)

  • That is quite a gourd.

  • I just want to say, Thank you for posting this photo so that we could have this image in our minds all day.  Haha.  ;) 

    I am actually a little shocked and dismayed at the number of Romney/Ryan stickers and lawn signs I have seen in my area.  But Obama is still so confident that he would never come speak here.  :(  

  • Nice gourd! Very long. 

    I am trying to mostly ignore the election, although I probably should be campaigning actively for Obama, as there are supreme court nominations coming up in the near future and I do not want Mitt Romney appointing any justices. I am still disappointed in Sandra Day for not hanging in there for another 18 months. 

    I should be laying down right now, but I just had to say hi to you!

  • @miss_order - @DrTiff - @ordinarybutloud - I think you all have gourd envy.  Eva – so glad you stopped by to say hi! Hope you still had a chance to lay down after your visit. :)

  • Brava! I really liked this post. I’m also a little jealous – I have a sticker but I have it on a little plastic hang tag for the mirror. I have to take it off and  hide it or Sparky would throw it away. Republicans are so intolerant…

  • @murisopsis – Haha! The stresses of a politically mixed marriage!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *