October 26, 2012

  • Preparations

    If the “Frankenstorm” hits, we will be well stocked. I bought bread and milk and batteries. Because you can’t go to a grocery store in the days prior to a major weather event and NOT get those things. And I got baking supplies, because there is an upcoming family birthday and an upcoming school bake sale, and if we are going to be trapped in doors during a storm, we may as well be productively baking, right?

    It’s kind of ominous outside already. There is so much information about the coming storm that it is sort of canceling itself out….leaving me feeling clueless. I can’t sort out whether it will come on shore in VA/MD or in NJ/NY, or which scenario would be worse. What I really want to know is whether school will be canceled and whether it will interfere with our Halloween plans. Can anyone tell me that? No. So, really, all I can do is get bread and wait.

    I didn’t sleep well last night. I had dinner out with friends and when I got back, my mind was churning on a whole bunch of things. I was wide awake, so I got up to read on my iPad, my preferred middle of the night reading device. (No lights required.) The problem is that I am reading “Unbroken,” (Laura Hillenbrand) and it is not a great bedtime story. I am reading about the horrors of a WWII Japanese POW camp, so it didn’t really quiet the mind, you know?

    Despite the lack of sleep, I managed to get my lazy butt out of the house for a 6 mile run this morning. I figured I may as well be outdoors now, because it really does sound like we have days and days of creepy weather ahead. So, I did it, though I just as easily could have gotten back in bed and slept for a few hours. I ran past the kids’ school twice. The first time, I was actively missing a pep rally to which the parents are invited. I just wasn’t into it today. The second time, I was intrigued by a group of kids outside and a fire truck parked in front of the school. Intrigued, but not worried.

    Just as I turned back into the neighborhood and slowed to a walk, my cell phone rang. (Of course I had it strapped to my body, being the extremely high maintenance runner that I am.) It was the school nurse, reporting our son’s latest head-on collision – this time with the back of another kid’s head. The nurse asked me to come in to comfort him and evaluate his tooth for a chip. Really? I went. What a sucker. He was fine, but it was nice to be able to comfort him and walk him back to class. I also suggested that maybe he could suck/chew on some ice, and the nurse acted as horrified as if I had suggested we strap him down and try shock therapy. Weird.

    Well, folks. The bus doth approach.

Comments (7)

  • I’ve made an irrevocable decision not to read “Unbroken.” Too many people have told me how awesome it is, and also how brutal. Plus, it kinda bothers me that she wrote it from bed. Yes, I realize this is a churlish and nonsensical irrevocable decision, so I’ll throw in this extra, completely rational and defensible reason: it doesn’t sound interesting to me.

  • @ordinarybutloud - I did not know she wrote it from bed. I picked it up in a moment of desperation – had to wait for 90 minutes for a kid at an activity, and left my paper book home. The Mr. had read Unbroken, so it was in our iBook library. I started it on my phone, expecting not to like it. Now I can’t stop thinking about it, and can’t stop reading it because I just really need to get past all the horrors. Amazing story, for sure.

  • I’m impressed that you went on a six mile run! Wow! I’ll have to look into the book – I have a thing for WWII and this sounds interesting.

  • Be safe!!!

    My family and friends are all in Maryland.  I heard that the storm was downgraded but now it’s back up to hurricane status.  Yikes!

    Six  mile run – impressive.

  • @gottobereal64 – The waiting game is tough- though I guess I prefer that to the immediate urgency of a tornado threat. Hope your friends/family stay safe.

  • @murisopsis – Thanks – I have been pushing myself to do longer distances and can’t quite believe that I’m succeeding! The book is fantastic, though extremely upsetting at times.

  • I’ll be thinking of you ! Stay safe !

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *