January 28, 2013

  • Books & Things

    I am not a fast reader, but I zipped through “This is How You Lose Her,” by Junot Diaz in less than a day. I even read it old school, off actual pages. With my reading glasses. (Because when I read on my iPad, I crank that font up so big that normal sighted aliens can probably see it from outer space. And Iranian space monkeys, too, I guess. If they can read.)

    But I digress.

    What I wanted to tell you, especially those of you who have read it, is that a great deal of the story takes place in a part of New Jersey with which I am quite familiar. Familiar in the sense that it is not far from where I grew up, geographically speaking. I even knew some of the roads, malls, and landfills referenced in the story. (How Jersey is that list of things?) In fact, the main character Yunior, and as a matter of fact, the author himself, went to the same high school as my cousins. I did not know any of this until I read the book. I had read “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao,” which also features Yunior, but that story took place in other parts of NJ, further from my old stomping grounds.

    So while I was familiar with the geography of Yunior’s/Diaz’s childhood….I was certainly not familiar with his experiences. I was living a pretty squeaky clean suburban cul-de-sac life, as opposed to the tough working class immigrant life detailed in the book. Of course, most of the book details his escapades with the ladies. I did actually (very briefly) date a (squeaky clean) Dominican boy in college…..but yeah, that was not at all wondrous and isn’t likely to be recounted in a book of any kind.

    Anyway, I got a kick out of the parts where he mocked the “white kids from Old Bridge,” because those were my cousins. Or slightly older versions of my cousins. Eh, humor me – I found it funny.

    So now I am onto “Flight Behavior,” by Barbara Kingsolver. I have loved most of her books over the years, so I have high hopes. It is also a real book with pages, and holy crow the type is small. Thank goodness for the spare reading glasses my mom gave me to leave downstairs, because I never seem to have mine in the right place at the right time. Who cares if the kids laugh at me every time they see me wearing them? They’re finally off to school again tomorrow, anyway.

    They just finished up their second consecutive 3 day weekend. Well, except that last 3 day weekend was really a 4 day weekend because of the snow. Don’t worry, though, they’ll only have to get through one full week of school (next week) before they get another 3 day weekend. Whew! We don’t want them to overdo it!

    The Mr. had to leave town today to tend to some family business, and will be gone most of the week. This weekend, he spent his free time cooking for us. Belgian waffle batter was made on Friday night and cooked into tastiness for Saturday morning breakfast. Saturday afternoon, he baked a tray of football shaped rolls from scratch. Saturday evening, he made us 2 varieties of crepes (mushroom/shallot and broccoli/ham/cheese) before heading out to see a movie with some friends. Now he is gone, and we still have a stack of crepes in the fridge just waiting for someone to fill and eat them. The kids had some for dessert, slathered with some pudding/whipped cream/Oreo concoction. I showed tremendous restraint and only ate the filling.

    We eat well when the Mr. is in charge. But, sadly, mom is in charge the rest of the week, and there are lots of activities to keep us on the go. Leftovers tonight, pizza tomorrow. The bar has been officially lowered.

     

     

     

Comments (9)

  • Flight behavior is my next book after I capture the castle!!!!

  • I’ll have to see about these titles. I’m curious. As for the dining/cooking habits – sounds like you’ve got it pretty cushy!

  • No one will ever write a book about any place I used to live.

    I read The Poisonwood Bible ten, eleven years ago, and it kind of depressed me, and I haven’t felt like reading anything else by Barbara Kingsolver since then. Part of my bad feelings about The Poisonwood Bible probably stems from the fact that the friend who recommended it to me said that the mother in the story reminded her of me. I’m still not sure what she meant by that.

  • @ordinarybutloud – Now I have a problem. I finished the 1st chapter last night, and it’s a 2 week library loan. This morning I got an email that a digital download I reserved at the library is available – for Painted Girls. I’m the first one! It just became available today! I think I have to put Flight Behavior aside and read that one first – also 2 weeks. I wish I was as speedy a reader as you. This is my stress in life. HA!

  • @murisopsis – The Diaz books involve some graphic language and topics, but his writing and voice are so unique – definitely worth checking into if you can handle the other stuff! The kids had crepes for breakfast, too. Rough life!

  • @madhousewife – Huh. The specifics of that character escape me now, but I take it you did not find that to be a compliment. My mom-in-law grew up in the Congo, so we all read that book with extra interest. I’ve loved Kingsolver since The Bean Trees. We go way back. ;)

  • @ordinarybutloud – Problem solved – it was an audiobook. I didn’t want an audiobook.

  • Barbara Kingsolver is great. I grew up in Jersey and went to school in Old Bridge! I either really like or hate books set there depending on how they line up with my own experience.

  • @Pepin909 - Well, hello fellow Kingsolver loving Jersey girl! Small world! Glad you stopped by. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *