January 31, 2013

  • #cranky

    Last night we had a tornado watch, after a day where the temperatures reached 75 degrees in January. One week earlier, the high was 32 for the day. Tomorrow, snow flurries are a possibility. I can’t keep up, and neither can my wardrobe.

    Do you see frozen yogurt shops popping up everywhere where you live? It’s a good part of the whole revival of the 1980s in culture, but we are absolutely inundated here. In the artsy part of downtown, there are even 2 competing shops right next door to each other. Here in the Bubble, there are about 5 different chains in spitting distance. We have our favorite, of course, chosen because unlike one of the other popular chains, it doesn’t throw its religious agenda in our face. Plus, they have better chocolate yogurt.

    It’s fun for me to see the 80s references in pop culture and fashion these days. But as our daughter wisely said the other day, “Wow. There are some things from the 80s that should just stay there. Not everything needs to come back.”

    Ah, yes. Sage advice from an 11 year old.

    This story would be more interesting if I could remember what 80s-inspired-faux-pas had inspired her to say that, but I can’t. I’m really tired. The wind was crazy here last night, and I couldn’t get to sleep. Then I did get to sleep and kept waking up in a panic, expecting to find the house crumbling around me. I had to ingest 3 times my normal coffee intake to get me going this morning. It turns out it was a good thing that I accidentally ordered the larger size at Starbucks. I had already had my regular morning coffee at home, but then found myself parked in front of the Starbucks around the corner when I had intended to stop for gas in the minivan. I took that as a sign that I needed to sip another coffee while I fueled up.

    I just realized I forgot to stop at the gas station after that, or anytime since. I did, however, get the minivan cleaned for the first time in recent history. And it’s reallllly clean. Like sparkly clean. Like it took so long for them to clean it that I thought someone had stolen the car and left me stranded at the car wash. Like the soap they used on the outside smells so strongly in the garage that it is now masking the smells that were oozing out of the trash dumpster this morning.

    So now I know for certain that they will cover the roads with salt in the morning, to fend off the 16 flakes of snow that may fall overnight.

    This would be a good night to fleece up early and doze off in front of a Daily Show marathon. But instead, I’ll need to get out of my stretchy pants and head over to one of our daughter’s two potential middle schools for an Open House. Tours, teachers, neighbors, and chit chat. YAY. 

     

Comments (5)

  • That’s weird…I can’t say I’ve noticed any religious agendas in association with our yogurt shops. I always got a vaguely…yogic…feeling. We choose our favorites based on how many gluten-free flavors they have and whether they openly mark them as such so we don’t have to freaking ask every time we go in.

  • You get to choose the middle school? That is crazy!

  • @ordinarybutloud - Yeah, we also choose our favorite based on the reliability of them NEVER EVER EVER moving the peanut butter flavor to another machine EVER, and where they keep the toppings that contain peanuts in relation to the spoons, etc. I can’t even imagine being able to just walk into a scoop shop or yogurt place and just order without worry, as I know you can’t either!

    Check this out. “sweetFrog was founded on the principles of Christianity and our belief in bringing happiness and a positive attitude into the lives of our consumers. At sweetFrog, F.R.O.G stands for Fully Rely On God – and we hope to be an example of that in every community!” It is weird. It’s not offensive or anything, just kind of in your face and not really needed when you’re out for fro yo. When they first opened, they were closed on Sundays for the lord, with a lengthy sign to that end on the door….but now they are open, so that’s also kind of not the strongest conviction, eh? We like Menchie’s.

  • @murisopsis - Well, she applied to a specialty center program in a school outside our neighborhood school. If she gets into that, she can choose. If she doesn’t, she goes to this neighborhood school. The good news is that they are both great options, so it is win-win. The bad news is, twice as many Open Houses!!

  • Religious yogurt? Blech.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *